Roasted cole slaw

image

Sometimes, but only rarely, a recipe comes to me in a flash of inspiration. It usually happens in the middle of the night of course and prevents me from falling back to sleep which made this recipe something off an oddity in that it happened whilst walking down a street in Long Island.

Monday night, whilst visiting New York for the first time in close to 5 years, I ate a superb meal with very good friends. One of the dishes, roasted cabbage, took me somewhat by surprise as I’d never considered the possibility of preparing cabbage as a roasted vegetable before. The leaves maintained a good texture, the cabbage itself had a wonderful sweetness and the edges of the leaves were slightly caramelised. It turns out that the cook reads my blog and I informed her that I might well use the recipe.

As I got off the Long Island Railroad and began walking back to my hosts home, it hit me. I love using cabbage for cole slaw. The other vegetables which I use for slaw are onions and carrots. Cabbage, carrots and onions are also delicious roasted. Therefore, roast them and make a roasted slaw!

After my eureka moment I went on line to see if anyone else had made such a salad. Most of the recipes that I discovered roast one element of the slaw but not the lot – in fact I couldn’t find a recipe for what I wanted to do. I decided to add a sprinkling of nuts and seeds. I also contemplated dressing the salad – mayonnaise clearly would not work I figured that the olive oil used in the roasting would be a good start and a little lemon juice would give a slight tartness in contrast to the sweetness of the roasted vegetables.

The result was outstanding – tasty and simple. Definitely to be repeated!

image

Ingredients

Half a white cabbage, cored and cut into wedges

2 medium sized carrots, peeled and thinly sliced

1 red onion, cut into wedges

Olive oil

onion powder

garlic powder

salt and pepper

small handful of nuts / seeds – I used pine nuts and pumpkin seeds

juice of half a lemon

image

Method

Preheat your oven to 200c / 400f

Put vegetables on a baking tray / cookie sheet. Drizzle olive oil over them and sprinkle with onion powder, garlic powder and salt and pepper.

Put vegetables into the oven to roast for about 15 – 20 minutes – you may need to turn them. Remove and leave to cool.

In the meantime, toast nuts in a dry pan

Combine the vegetables, add a squeeze of lemon and throw the nuts on top.

7 responses to “Roasted cole slaw

    • NY is great. Actually did 5 cities in 10 days, each different from each other – a bit of variety is great. My main complaint about NY foodwise is the lack of vegetables at reasonable prices which actually taste of anything….

Your feedback is welcomed!

