Sinta / Sirloin, in the style of a “London broil”

I have without doubt gone “off the boil” in the last few months. Friends have told me that they’ve missed my posts but I’ve been waiting for a confluence of inspiration and time in order to post. Happily, I’m currently taking paternity leave and last week made a very important discovery which I’d like to share with you.

Up to a week ago, had you asked me whether I’d prefer Sirloin (Sinta) or Entrecote my answer would certainly have been the latter. Proponents of Sinta usually opine that the loin which was allegedly knighted for it’s quality is less fatty with my response being that precisely because Entrecote is fattier, it is also tastier and therefore a hands down winner. That having been said, my cholesterol has been slowly going up year by year so perhaps this is no longer a sensible argument. The downside of entrecote however is that it’s fattiness doesn’t lend itself well to being served at room temperature and in the summer months, shabbat lunch is best served cold.

I wanted to get a decent piece of beef; my wife had just celebrated a birthday and was due to leave for an overseas visit. I was planning on grilling for Shabbat and thought steaks would be a great addition to the meal. We have a small local supermarket which we use to buy our last minute bits when we don’t want to brave the big discount place anytime after Thursday morning. It happens to have an excellent meat counter which always has some deal or another. This week it was Sinta (Sirloin) for NIS 69 per kilo – not a spectacular price but still a pretty good one for a premium cut and in that there is very little wasted it’s not as much as it seems. The catch was that you had to buy an entire piece rather than them cutting it to size but it’s not a big cut so it ended up weighing in at a manageable 1.3 kilos.

Not having cooked one before, I unwrapped it, with the intention of slicing it into steaks. I encountered a little fat and connective tissue which need to be trimmed РI happen to love this sort of thing so set to work with a sharp knife and a few minutes later, found myself looking at a rectangular piece measuring about 15cm x 25cm of fairly uniform thickness reminiscent of a very large steak. Immediately it occurred to me that I should cook it in the style as I would a London Broil, which as is often the case, is called something entirely different in London.
image

I happened to have a prepared dry spice rub which I anointed the meat liberally with on both sides but making your own is easy enough. I left it to sit until I was ready to fire up the grill.
image

The slab of meat cooked for approximately 10 minutes on one side before it was turned at which point I inserted a meat thermometer. After a further 5 – 6 minutes it showed that it had hit medium (I was distracted – my preference is for medium rare).

I left the meat to cool as I was serving it for lunch the next day but I have since repeated the exercise and served it after resting for 10 – 15 minutes to a bunch of hungry and highly complementary guys.
image

The meat was served at room temperature, sliced as thinly as possible, an exquisite pink in the middle, extremely tasty and juicy – superb as part of a cold lunch with some sharp mustard. Left overs were perfect in sandwiches and in a steak salad. Provided the price stays reasonable this could well develop into a summer staple.

7 responses to “Sinta / Sirloin, in the style of a “London broil”

  1. You left me dumbfounded at the announcement that while you are on paternity leave, your wife feels hearty enough to make an overseas trip. The woman is unstoppable! Now — bring on the sinta. Sounds marvelous!

Your feedback is welcomed!

